Lately.

carousel_s1. Rehearsals for Carousel (get your tickets!!) have been ramping up in recent weeks, on top of the usual evening commitments. Although it’s tiring to be out nearly every night, I have more energy these days than I have in a long time. What is it they say about finding your truest passion? Something like: it’s the thing you can do for hours without realizing the time that’s slipping by.

Or may that’s just what they say about sleeping.

Either way (whether sleeping or performing), I am so thankful this season.

2. I am especially enjoying my lunchtime walks around Jericho, where everything but the walls have fallen down on this building.

Aviary Photo_130594352636329084

 

Aviary Photo_130594350576798893

3. This cookie cake (recipe halved) took 20 minutes to whip up and kept Peter and I very happy through a depressing episode of Silk. Serves 4? I don’t think so…

 

4. Every time I grocery shop at Lidl, it deluges. Which truly baffles me because, contrary to popular belief, it doesn’t actually rain every day here in Oxford. When I emerged from my last shop, the skies took pity on me… Just believe me when I say that it went all Lion King there for a moment as the sun set.

Aviary Photo_130594351520646359

5. I was out leafleting today for Carousel in Summertown, a very old (and very posh) part of Oxford. The houses are amazing — fully of little nooks, secret passageways, tiny gates overgrown with ivy… How’s this for a long walk to your front door? My shoulders almost brushed the walls as I walked down to the post box.

20141108_111115

My leafleting partner Hilary and I got complete drenched on our two hour expedition…  You can’t tell in this photo, but my scarf, jacket, jeans, and whole face to be honest, is actually dripping with rain. The things we do for art!

20141108_132027

6. Peter was at a conference in Dublin this week where he participated in philosophical sparring, Guinness imbibing, and Ryanair haggling. He had a blast (without me! I’m still waiting for my spousal invite to one of these things…), and I didn’t put a great amount of effort into a homecoming welcome. That said, I’m pretty proud of my self-portraiture here. And check out those bikes! Best bikes I’ve ever drawn! Pictionary, anyone? You’re going down. 

20141108_082809

7. Finally, this guy blew me away on Cornmarket last week with his guitar playing/slapping. Wow.

8 thoughts on “Lately.

  1. Sarah! Jane here 🙂 I LOVE reading this blog, and you don’t know how gutted I am not to be front & centre at your performance. You have an incredible voice and I know it will be spectacular! Will it be recorded?

Leave a comment