Monday Morning Blues

It’s happened, folks. Spring is sneaking its way into Oxford, and allergies back into our nostrils. The Philosopher and I popped open the pillbox that has been hiding since September, with a mixture of regret and excitement.

Allergies are sad, but they usually herald foliage, daffodils, long evenings, and the like. It’s a tricky equation to balance, but spring comes out greater 9 times out of 10 I think.

So, to be thankful:

1) Bright sunshine a few mornings this week made for a glorious morning commute.

DSC04315

2) 33 pages into the novel and…(drumroll) we have a death! To my great embarrassment, the Google search box currently reads “how do you knock someone out with drugs?” Internet police: I’m innocent!

3) You can thank us later; this weekend we finally did a long-awaited taste test of various digestive biscuits brands. McVities simply cannot be beaten (but Sainsbury’s most upscale brand came pretty close.)

DSC04322

4) Sun is setting later – lights out around 5:20 means a few days a week I can get away without those pesky front bike lights!

5) I am so thankful for the small things in life that tickle my funny bone. Like the back of these blackhead clearing strips. Step one (and two, scarily): LOCATE THE NOSE. IF NOT ABLE, TRY AGAIN. Step two: CUP HANDS FIRMLY IN ORDER TO RECEIVE NOSE STRIP. Etc.DSC04314

6) We made it through January. I am thankful for this. January has got to be a tricky month for everyone. Except southern hemisphere folk. I guess that is about 30-40% of the global population though…’everyone’ is feeling increasingly over-dramatic.

7) I was vacuuming yesterday and spotted someone spying on me…I think she’s been doing so for at least a year. Sicko.DSC04317

8) Despite a very tight squeeze between work and evening meetings this week, I’m very excited for our meals line-up. First on the menu: Salade au Lardons Pizza!

9) I’ve been compiling all of the many songs composed over the years, from an early 16 year-old attempt (one which still reverberates in my head from time to time despite having very little melodic interest to speak of) to more recent pennings. Many were scrapped, but I managed to salvage 11 which may be able to be heard by listeners without inducing tears of boredom or fits of illness. Thankful for creative outlets.

10) Your turn!

One thought on “Monday Morning Blues

Leave a Reply

