Pumpkin Perfection

We’ve spent the week in pumpkin nirvana. Or at least, trying to achieve it. Due to my recent discovery of the American aisle, cans of pumpkin have at last been at my disposal for less than Amazon’s £4 a pop.

I’ve been able to do what I’ve wanted to for the last four years: whittle down the stack of pumpkin bread recipes to find that one, glowing ideal of pumpkin-bread-perfection.

We did the same with chilis, spending one month with hearts, minds and stomachs devoted to finding the best chili recipe. In fact, that month may be the reason that I can’t look at ground beef any more and feel anything but a churning in my gut.

We had a month with macaroni and cheese.

And then one with curry.

Of course there’s always the ongoing perfect brownie/chocolate chip cookie/cocoa cake recipe. But I’ve understood now that this is unlikely to be resolved in my lifetime, and I’m ok with that.

But pumpkin bread: that I was sure we could figure out.

I had two which had risen to the top of the stack over the years, one with dark brown sugar and molasses-y richness, and the other with white sugar, spicy fluffiness.

So first, we made a half batch of each:

DSC04299

I mean, could two pumpkin muffins BE more different?

DSC04303

Problem was that after we had cast votes and they were tallied, there was the worst kind of result: a 50/50 split. The Phil went for light and sweet, and the modernworkinggirl the dark and rich.

Hmm. Microcosm/metaphor of/for life?

Anyway, we took a deep breath and went in for one more batch, combining the two recipes into one.

DSC04305

Near perfection. But not quite. What is your favorite pumpkin muffin/bread recipe and where can I find it?!!

Some muffins were harmed in the testing of this recipe…hardly any were left un-nibbled!

DSC04306

Here’s what we created.*

Nearly Perfect Pumpkin Muffins (1 loaf or 16 muffins)

  • 1 stick butter (4oz)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 generous cup pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 tsp spices of choice (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup raisins and/or chocolate chips

We’ve got one big problem remaining…let me just show you:

DSC04308

…and that’s not all of them!

 

 *throughout this post, I have used the ‘royal’ we in several places, I must confess. The Philosopher was mainly involved in a taste testing capacity, a role in which he has specialized for years.
DSC04304
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Perfection

Leave a Reply

