The Tenors Tavern

I think I just dreamed the plot of my first novel.

I never imagined that my first novel would be in the fantasy genre, but turns out it is.

Once upon a time, there was this Chinese princess, Olivia. When she was very young, her parents were killed by a Richelieu/Rasputin type, who also stole a magical dragon who was her little helper and – it turns out – the key to indicating her right to assume the throne. As a 10-year-old girl she sets out to find this dragon and gain back her rule.

But Olivia is not the main character. Oh no.

Turns out that I am.

I too, am on a journey with a mystical character-animal-thing of my own, who is a pig with an elephant’s snout. This side-kick, in spirit if not form, takes after Donkey in Shrek. It’s a bit unclear what I am searching for, but I have no doubt that if I had managed to stay asleep, it would have turned out to be really awesome.

Olivia’s path collides with mine in the infamous Tenors Tavern.

It is, you guessed it, a pub where tenors meet, drink and warble. There are all kinds of tenors here: human tenors, magical creature tenors, animal tenors and most of all…Irish tenors. The Irish lilt washes over me immediately and my pigly sidekick and I are swept up in a warm world inside the cave-like, absolutely packed bar. We start exploring with a friendly tenor and walk by four huge doors with different signs on the front.

The Door of Lost Things

The Door of True Love

The Door of Do-Over

The Door of Final Days

It is outside of the Door of Lost Things that we meet Olivia, and hear her whole story.

The tenor tells us that each door can give you the answer to your deepest questions, but – and he lowers his voice here – at a price.

Olivia wonders if she should ask the door about her dragon when an elderly sheep wobbles up to the door and bleats: “where is my baaaaaby? Where is my baa baa baaaaby?”

The door swings open and rumbles an answer, then in a whoosh of wind, sweeps the sheep inside and slams shut. While open, we can hear the baa-ing of many other sheep sounding from deep inside.

The tenor explains that since sheep are the dumbest of animals and have such a poor memory, all of them remember the day each of their babies was born, but cannot remember that these babies have grown up. They are always sad because they are looking for their lost babies. One by one, sheep from all around travel to this very door in pursuit of their children, and pay the price for the answer with their lives.

We shudder as the tenor warbles these final words. We look at each other, and Olivia squares her shoulders and hardens her gaze. She straightens the bow and arrows on her back and says to us:

“We’re gonna beat this.”

I agree with vigorous shaking of head. So vigorous, in fact, that I wake myself up.

What do you think? Best-seller a la Hunger Games?!!

 

5 thoughts on “The Tenors Tavern

  1. Dreams with that much detail are a sign of very high intelligence. Did you know Keith Richards originally dreamed the hook for “Satisfaction” and woke up in the middle of the night and wrote it down? True story–or at least I think I read that somewhere at some point.

  2. And, not just a children’s story, I would read it. It’s hard to not want the next installment now! 🙂 This is hilarious. What amazing dreams you have.

Leave a Reply

