To be or not to be

That really was the question last Tuesday night.

Some neighbours of ours invited us to the touring Globe Theatre production of Hamlet, showing outdoors in the courtyard of the Bodleian Libary.

Um, YES?! As good luck would have it, we were free.

To boot, we were having record-breaking sunshine last week, so warmth and daylight both lingered deep into the night. The sun had just vanished into thin air when the show finished around 10:30pm.

We started off the evening with some celebratory Perry, or pear cider. I’m not keeping alcohol in business most of the time, but I LOVE perry. I discovered it last summer when my boss insisted I take the leftover bottles from our academic conference home with me. At first I declined taking more than a bottle (because really, I hardly ever drink) but later regretted it. In truth, the lady didst protesteth too much! (Shakespeare? Post appriopriate, anyway.) It has a low proof – only about 4.5% – and fizzes like that old-fashioned Martino’s sparkling apple cider from parties of my youth. I loved that stuff too.

Oxford was dressed to the nines in glorious light, and feeling fancy free. We on the other hand…not too glorious and looking pretty blurry. It wasn’t the alcohol, promise!The Globe performs Shakespeare as it would have been performed, with minimal staging and a troupe, many of whom play instruments and perform multiple roles. We were very impressed with a young Hamlet, who managed to shake off the Branagh imitation by his second monologue.

We had a great time with these guys too. Jules is an actress and director, so we had the insider’s scoop during intermission. To be honest, we were glad to have her there, because parts of it I confess, for my own part, were Greek to me. All’s well that ended well!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “To be or not to be

  1. “You speak like a green girl,
    Unsifted in such perilous circumstance.” Whatever that means!!
    – William Shakespeare, Hamlet, 1.3

Leave a Reply

