Monday Morning Blues

Well, four months into the new job and I’m ready to sing my Monday Morning Blues again! I suppose, actually, my theme song should be:

Fickle-hearted!

This Monday morning, I was thankful for:

1. The actual weather being better than the forecast EVERY DAY THIS PAST WEEK! Now that’s what I call progress.

Well…Saturday aside.

2. Having my friend the Historian and her mother to stay yesterday.
3. Daffodils.
4. Blenheim Palace giving us 4 year-long annual memberships even though we missed the time frame for that to happen. Thank you nice guy at the kiosk!

Blenheim Palace
Blenheim Palace (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
 5. Being treated to a fancy meal at Jamie’s Italian. Bolognese, I’ve spent years thinking I didn’t like you. How wrong I was. Please forgive.
6. Tagliatelle. Speaking of Bolognese, I think tagliatelle trumps spaghetti as the perfect pasta accompaniment.

tagliatelle
tagliatelle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
7. Spending time with the Philosopher doing a new and daring work-out: 100 jumping jacks, 90 crunches, 80 squats, 70 leg lifts, 60 jumping jacks, 50 crunches…etc. We feel good! (I cheated on the leg lifts. Just a little bit.)
8. Nearly the two month countdown for US trip!

9. Spending most of Friday listening to various Punch Brothers, Yo-Yo Ma’s Goat Rodeo Sessions and Crooked Still. I think I love new-grass/bluegrass.

Can anyone give me a number 10?

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Blues

  1. Also, the Philosopher’s nephew trying out complete sentences: this morning, after asking me to help him find his “garbage truck,” he said, “I don’t see um.”

  2. On this Patriots Day, I am thankful we resolved our differences after that nasty earling morning battle April of 1775. Had we not, we would have missed out on some amazing friendships. Good life’s lesson, isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

